Team:Northwestern/Acknowledgements

From 2010.igem.org

(Difference between revisions)
Line 101: Line 101:
<style>
<style>
body {
body {
-
   background: #EEDCC8; <!-- EEDCC8 url(http://2010.igem.org/wiki/images/3/38/BG1.jpg) repeat-y; -->
+
   background: #EFCDF8; <!-- EEDCC8 url(http://2010.igem.org/wiki/images/3/38/BG1.jpg) repeat-y; -->
}
}
</style>
</style>

Revision as of 02:45, 23 October 2010


Tech Institute
Home Brainstorm Team Acknowledgements Project Human Practices Parts Notebook Calendar Protocol Safety Links References Media Contact


Sponsors

EMD CHEMICALS - Shou Wong

Corresponded with Shou who promised to meet with team in August and to potentially set up sponsorship with EMD Millipore.

EPOCH LIFE SCIENCES - XueNong Zhang

Sponsorship of 1000 DNA Spin Columns

NEB - Lori Tonello

Sponsorship of Biobrick Kits, Antarctic Phosphotase, Chitin Rhodamine, Taq polymerase, 1kb DNA ladder, DpnI and pMAL

PROMEGA - Sara Mann

Nominal amount of free products and additional discounts on petri dishes, pipet tips, Nova Blue cells, T4 DNA Ligase, pour boats, nuclease free water, gloves, biohazard bags, delicate wipers, serological pipets, 1.7 mL tubes, and agar.

QIAGEN - Jackie Ciardo

Discounts on miniprep kits, gel extraction kits, and PCR purification kits.

VWR - Amy Vanarsdale

Additional discounts on petri dishes, pipet tips, Nova Blue cells, T4 DNA Ligase, pour boats, nuclease free water, gloves, biohazard bags, delicate wipers, serological pipets, 1.7 mL tubes, and agar.

Advisors

John Mordacq
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
Program in Biological Sciences
Email: j-mordacq@northwestern.edu

Joshua Leonard
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: j-leonard@northwestern.edu

Michael Jewett
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Email: m-jewett@northwestern.edu

NU Faculty and Affiliates

Debora Boetcher
McCormick Biological and Chemical Engineering, Office Assistant
Email: d-boetcher@northwestern.edu
Contribution: Assisted with logistics such as billing and receiving of products.

Paul Brannon
Biological Imaging Facilities, Confocal Specialist
Biology, University of Chicago
Email: p-brannon@northwestern.edu
Room: Hogan 5-150
Contribution: Trained team members for confocal microscopy operation and made suggestions on how to integrate confocal microscopy into our project.

Jamie Bufkin
Biological Imaging Facilities, Program Assistant
Sociology & History, University of San Diego
Email: j-bufkin@northwestern.edu
Room: Hogan 5-150
Contribution: Set up confocal training for team members.

Sara Fernandez Dunne
High Throughput Analysis Lab, Research Technologist II
Northwestern University
Email: s-fernandez@northwestern.edu
Room: Hogan 4-140
Contribution: trained team members for plate reader and made suggestions on how to integrate the plate reader into our project.

John F. Marko
Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Cell Biology; Physics & Astronomy
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Email: john-marko@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 467-1276
Room: Pancoe Rm 4109
Contribution: Discussed using Keio knockout collection.

Linda Mattice
Yale University Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
E. Coli Keio Knockout Collection Distributor
Email: cgsc@yale.edu
Contribution: Send us Keio Collection ydgG knockout cells.

William Russin
Biological Imaging Facilities, Manager
PhD, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Email: w-russin@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-6657
Room: Hogan 5-150
Contribution: Discussed microscopy options for our project and integrated confocal microscopy into our project.

Margaret (Peggy) Saks
Research Professor, The Uhlenbeck Lab
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Cell Biology
Email: m-saks@northwestern.edu
Phone: (847) 491-5624
Room: Pancoe Rm 4113
Times: 10:30am-end
Contribution: Discussed chiA, tqsA knockout procedures.

Wei Zhang
Civil and Environmental Engineering, PhD Candidate
Aaron Packman Lab
Interests: Flow and biofilm interaction and microbial communities in biofilms.
Email: w-zhang@u.northwestern.edu
Contribution: Discussed potential use of flow cells to form a biofilm.

Laurie Zoloth
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Professor of Medical Humanities & Bioethics and Religion
Director of Center for Bioethics, Science and Society
Interests: Ethics in Genetic Medicine, in Stem Cell Research, Justice in health care allocation
Email: lzoloth@northwestern.edu
Contribution: Discussed ethics of synthetic biology and made suggestions on potential essay topics.